Spiritual growth matters.

At our core, we are compelled and inspired by Jesus Christ. Of all the relationships you’ll develop at Cornerstone, your relationship with Him rises above the rest. As you grow spiritually, a diverse community of Christ followers is growing with you. We worship together, pray together, learn together and are challenged by each other to make a difference in our world for Jesus Christ.

  • A Spiritual Oasis: Our chapel provides an opportunity to address the spiritual dimension of our personal lives or the corporate life of our community in an unusually direct manner.
  • A Worship Service: We aspire to provide a service of worship which brings glory to God and to minister to our community.
  • An Explicitly Christ-Centered Occasion: Historically, Christian education has regularly featured a communal chapel service. A chapel protects our university from the too common drift away from God and toward secularization.
  • A Unifying Event: The very act of gathering together cuts against individualism and trains us to see ourselves as a community summoned in praise of God. The gospel has more power to unite us than our individual affinities have to pull us apart.

Schedule for Spring 2016

  • Friday, January 22: Praise Chapel
  • Sunday, January 24: Evensong
  • Monday, January 25: Valyncia Jennings, Recording Artist & Pastor Nathaniel Moody, Brown Hutcherson Ministries (MLK Chapel)
  • Wednesday, January 27: Kyle Brown, Senior Pastor of Berkley Hills
  • Friday, January 29: Praise Chapel
  • Sunday, January 31: Evensong

  • Monday, February 1: Chip Huber, Associate VP for Student Development and Director of Athletics
  • Wednesday, February 3: Praise Chapel
  • Friday, February 5: Chris O'Shaughnessy, Author & Speaker
  • Sunday, February 7: No Evensong
  • Monday, February 8: Gerald Longjohn, VP for Student Development
  • Wednesday, February 10: Dr. Joe Stowell, President
  • Friday, February 12: Praise Chapel
  • Sunday, February 14: Evensong
  • Monday, February 15: Emily Gratson, Associate Dean of Assessment & Student Success
  • Wednesday, February 17: Scott Courey, Director of Counseling, Health & Wellness
  • Friday, February 19: Praise Chapel
  • Sunday, February 21: Evensong
  • Monday, February 22: Laurie Krieg, Hole in My Heart Ministries
  • Wednesday, February 24: Ryan Waalkes, Bridge Street House of Prayer
  • Friday, February 26: Praise Chapel & Earl Young, Olympian & "Delete Blood Cancer"
  • Sunday, February 28: Evensong
  • Monday, February 29: Marin Hann, CU Alumna & GRTS Student

  • Wednesday, March 2: Dr. Joe Stowell, President
  • Friday, March 4: Praise Chapel
  • Monday, March 14: Departmental Chapel (Advising)
  • Wednesday, March 16: Wayburn Dean, Afterword Music Ministry & Inside Prison Ministries
  • Friday, March 18: Praise Chapel
  • Sunday, March 20: Evensong
  • Monday, March 21: Lynn Cohick, Professor of New Testament at Wheaton College
  • Wednesday, March 23: Good Friday Chapel
  • Wednesday, March 30: Resurrection Chapel

  • Friday, April 1: Susan Whaley, Ministry Associate for Worship & Resident Director
  • Sunday, April 3: Evensong
  • Monday, April 4: Class Chapel
  • Wednesday, April 6: Dr. Joe Stowell, President
  • Friday, April 8: Bryan Loritts, Pastor for Preaching & Missions at Trinity Grace Church
  • Sunday, April 10: Evensong
  • Monday, April 11: Departmental Chapel
  • Wednesday, April 13: Sarah Thebarge, Author of "The Invisible Girls"
  • Friday, April 15: Praise Chapel & Gerhard Duvenhage, Jabulani African Ministries
  • Sunday, April 17: Evensong
  • Monday, April 18: Leslie Leyland Fields, Author
  • Wednesday, April 20: Troy Evans, Pastor of The Edge Urban Fellowship
  • Sunday, April 24: Evensong
  • Monday, April 25: Sharon Brown, Author & Pastor of Redeemer Covenant & GRTS Faculty
  • Wednesday, April 27: Natalie Kompik, Ministry Associate for Discipleship & Resident Director
  • Friday, April 29: Praise Chapel

  • Sunday, May 1: Evensong

Audio Archive

To download audio files of chapel messages from previous academic years, visit cuchapel.com.